The Summer Research Fellowship is designed to provide financial support for students and post-doctoral trainees to conduct a mentored research project during the academic summer break. We encourage a broad range of research topics pertaining to sexually transmitted infections (STIs) including basic science, clinical investigation, program science, educational scholarship, etc.

The goals of the Summer Research Fellowship are to:

  • Encourage trainees to conduct STI research
  • Provide financial support that permits trainees to dedicate time to a STI-related research project
  • Encourage STI researchers to dedicate time to mentoring trainees and recognize the mentor’s contribution with an honorarium
  • Advance the ASTDA mission to foster scientific knowledge, develop leadership, and champion practice in the field of sexually transmitted infections.

ASTDA is pleased to announce the 2024 Summer Fellowship Awardees:

Rachel Hart-Malloy (l) and John Angles (r)

Prospective, multivariate, spatiotemporal modeling for the early detection of outbreaks in national case-based primary and secondary syphilis surveillance data

Awardee: John Angles, MPH (SUNY University at Albany)
Mentor: Rachel Hart-Malloy, PhD, MPH (New York State Department of Health)

Samuel Bunting and Aniruddha Hazra

Samuel Bunting (l) and Aniruddha Hazra (r)

A Pilot Study to Support Integration of Preventive Sexual Healthcare in Inpatient and Intensive Outpatient Psychiatric Care Settings

Awardee: Samuel R. Bunting, MD, MSHA, (University of Chicago)
Mentor: Aniruddha Hazra, MD, (University of Chicago)

Tess Filipowicz (l) and Brian Pence (r)

Tess Filipowicz (l) and Brian Pence (r)

The impact of new awareness of a sexually transmitted infection on depressive symptoms among women with HIV in the United States

Awardee: Tess R. Filipowicz, MPH (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Mentor: Brian W. Pence, PhD (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Sheridan Spivey George

Sheridan Spivey George

Sialidase Quantification in Longitudinal Vaginal Specimens from Women Prior to Incident Bacterial Vaginosis

Awardee: Sheridan Spivey George, BS (University of Alabama at Birmingham)
Mentors: Christina Muzny, MD, MSPH, and Barbara Van Der Pol, PhD, MPH (University of Alabama at Birmingham)

Harold (Hank) Green, Jr. (left), Jeffrey Grant (middle), and Debby Herbenick (right)

Harold Green, Jr. (l), Jeffrey Grant (middle), and Debby Herbenick (r)

Exploring MSM Adult Content Creators’ Sexual Behaviors and Their Role in Sexual Health Communication

Awardee: Jeffrey David Grant, MPH, PMP (Indiana University)
Mentors: Harold D. (Hank) Green, Jr., PhD, Debby Herbenick, PhD, MPH, CSE (Indiana University)

Travis Hunt

Travis Hunt

Alternative Treatment Strategies for Syphilis

Awardee: Travis Hunt, MD (University of Washington)
Mentor: Matthew Golden, MD, MPH (University of Washington)

Jennifer Sanderson Slutsker

Jennifer Sanderson Slutsker

A mixed methods approach to evaluate implementation of a medication expedited partner therapy program, New York City

Awardee: Jennifer Sanderson Slutsker, MPH (New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene)
Mentor: Preeti Pathela, DrPH, MPH (New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene)

Emma Tucker

Emma Tucker (l) and Jason Zucker (r)

Analyzing the Uptake and Health Equity Implications of Doxy-PEP on Bacterial STIs Following the Release of the 2023 NYC Department of Health Doxy-PEP Guidelines

Awardee: Emma Tucker (Columbia University)
Mentor: Jason Zucker, MD (Columbia University)

Yonatan Grad (left) and QinQin Yu (right)

Yonatan Grad (l) and QinQin Yu (r)

Evolution of the major antigen Opa in Neisseria gonorrhoeae

Awardee: QinQin Yu, PhD (Harvard University)
Mentor: Yonatan Grad, MD, PhD (Harvard University)